Boy Scout Troop 157
Weston, Massachusetts
Patch

About Troop 157

Scout House

The Weston Scout House – Troop 157’s Meeting Place


Scout House
Troop 157 very much enjoys its meeting place – the historic Weston Scout House, School Street, Weston, MA.  In 1938, the Weston Girl Scout Council began fundraising to purchase the land and build the Scout House they envisioned.  The House sits on its original site at the junction of Wellesley Street and School Street and was generously donated to the Weston Girl Scout Council by the prominent Misses Louisa and Marion Case.  The architect of record is unclear, but he could have been well-known architect Mr. Samuel Mead, or Mr. Stanley Kellogg (both residents of Weston, MA).  Ground was broken in June 1941 after raising the $7,500 needed, and construction was completed that September.  We are very thankful for the efforts of our Weston Scout leaders to create this unique Town asset.  Mr. Red Travis is recognized for his extraordinary roles in making the Scout House a reality and was named an Honorary Trustee of Weston Scouts, Inc, 2 months before he passed away.  A plague commemorating his contributions to Weston scouting proudly hangs on prominently in the Scout House.

Today the Weston Scout House serves many Brownie, Girl Scout, Cub Scout groups, and town organizations in Weston, but also in our surrounding communities.  And of course, it’s where Weston BSA Troop 157 calls home.



Historical information is excerpted from “From a history on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary, 1991.

 

First scout to report the code 'T157ZULU" to Mr. DeVito will win a prize.